Exploring Deactivation Links

In this screencast I describe how I have begun using deactivation links in addition to my already existing activation and exclusive links on my code window.  When two codes are connected using a deactivation link, when one code is pressed, it starts that code and stops the other code from running on the timeline.  I chose to use this type of link in preparation for coding student independent work habits.  I will assume that I will begin independent work time by pressing the “Student working independently” code.  All of the text labels I have linked to that code (with deactivation links) will be disruptions to that independent work such as the student asking for/receiving help from the teacher or the student refusing to complete a task.  As I continue to develop this code window, I will practice coding some example videos to determine whether deactivation links make more sense for this particular code.  I’m still trying to wrap my head around whether the disruption tasks should be separate codes or whether they should be text labels.  More information on that later 🙂

Posted on July 2, 2013, in Educational Research and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Tara. In Ryan’s video reply he raises a very good point about lead and lag times. The lead time enables you to see what happened leading up to an event. Setting a lead time gives you this vision. For example “asking for teacher assistance” if you do not have a lead time you will merely get from the time the student asks for help. By having a lead time you will able to see the events that lead to the request.

    I would also add lead times to “positive engagement” “negative engagement” codes again to see the events that lead up to the change. Might just help the research.

    Philip

    • Excellent Point! Thank you! I am in the process of playing around with the actual coding and I will definitely add some lead/lag times to the videos!

Leave a Reply

