Stacking Videos

Ryan and I did another training today and he helped me solve all of my immediate setbacks.  We discussed cameras and filming angles, stacking timelines, scripting, and Interrater Reliability.  I don’t want to overload any posts, so I will spread out what I’ve learned over several posts over the next few days.

Today’s post will be on multiple camera angles and stacking videos into one timeline.  

In my last post I explained my dilemma about cameras.  In educational research, there is a lot to consider when it comes to video including authenticity of situations, logistics of setting up/taking down cameras each day, and the privacy of students.  Ryan and I spent some time examining different camera options online and brainstormed some pros and cons.  We looked at the GoPro cameras because they were recommended to me.  They are fairly inexpensive and have a wide angle lens, but they are still larger than the cameras I already have and I would still have to find appropriate tripods or mounts for it.  We also looked at various “spy” type cameras that students could clip to glasses or a headband.   Most of these cameras would not film with the same ratio as my other cameras and they also would require format conversion.  While these aren’t huge problems, I think forcing 6-7 year olds to wear a camera on fake glasses or on a headband would threaten the authenticity of my results.  I can see them as a major distraction.  We looked into the Reflector app more too (since I will need a clear view of the iPad), but we could not figure out a way to stream just the video from the iPad.   I absolutely must keep the sound on the iPad because audio is a main feature of the eWorkbook.  Apparently at this point there is only a way to stream just video from a computer to an Apple TV, not from an iDevice.

Basically, we landed back where we started… we decided to work with what I have and just work on camera angles.  Rather than purchasing new cameras, I will only purchase tripods and tripod adapters for iPods.  I have 3 iPod Touches and 1 Kodak Easy Share camera that I will use to get three “overhead” shots of the three participants and one general classroom “standard” shot that includes all three students.  The good things about these cameras are that they already film in the correct format, they can film in the same aspect ratios, and they are very easy to import.  I will definitely have to spend some time in the classroom prior to starting research to find the correct angles though.  For my coding, the standard shot will be stacked with the overhead shot for each student so we can see the iPad screen, how the student interacts with it, and what is going on in the entire classroom.  When you watch the screencast, you will see the angles we came up with.  I am pleased with these views, but I also welcome any feedback on camera angles.

A Stacked timeline allows me to look at multiple angles at the same time and code onto one single timeline.  For anyone looking for quick directions on creating a stacked timeline, here they are:

Creating a Stacked Timeline:

– Create 2 separate movie packages for your videos

– Line up the play-heads to the starting cue on each video(so they will stack correctly)

– Move your “main” angle up to the front timeline (you can always rearrange later)

– File; Stack Timeline movies; Save as any name

– Options: Make sure “cut start time using – playheads” and “cut end time using shortest movie” are selected

– NOTE: This will only be a reference file

File; Save as a “Standalone package” (Can use same name if you save it to a different location first)

Delete other files to save space: 2 separate movie packages and the original stacked reference file

Posted on August 15, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

