Quick Update

I just wanted to write a quick update on my progress with IRR.   I just met with Ryan and we discussed some ways for me to calculate all of the IRR measurements I want.  Now I just need some time to play with my code windows and figure out for which values I want to calculate IRR and which formulas I should use for reporting.  Ideally I would like to use more than percent agreement for some measures; a more appropriate calculation would be Cohen’s Kappa.  Looking at the scripting involved for Kappa, it seems like this is much more complicated, but I am still going to give it a try.  The great thing about using scripting to calculate this is that it will only be hard once! Once it’s in there, I can calculate Kappa for any videos we’ve coded.  I will continue to develop the IRR portion of my Independence Code Windows over the next few days and then I will start working on my Engagement Code Window, which is much more complicated.

On a separate note, In the next few weeks I will train my research cohort on some basics of StudioCode and how we will use these code windows for our fall research.  I plan on getting some feedback from them and posting it on this blog so you all can hear the perspectives of some other educational researchers 🙂                

Posted on August 27, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

