Window Aesthetics Solutions and Tips

Amidst all of our traveling, training, and daily work, Ryan and I were finally able to find a day where we both were in town to do some more training and problem solving with StudioCode. I am in great shape now to make some changes and improvements and I have a lot to post about, but I will split it up into several posts to not overload everyone.

This post will address some of my concerns in my last post about the organization and overall look of my code window. Ryan reminded me of some tips from our initial training and he taught me a few tricks to keep everything in my code window neat and looking the way I want it to look. I am not finished reorganizing, but I wanted to post about this right away for those of you who watch my blog who are in the same predicament.

In the near future I will continue my video blog series with the following topics (not sure on the order yet though):
– Using Reference Packages to “test” your code windows
– Creating Code windows for co-researchers using “find and replace”
– The Matrix window
– Alternate Names feature
– Combining Timelines
– The Stats Window and Documenting data over time for graphing

If anyone has some specific things you want me to address or to help them problem solve, please feel free to post comments or message me through the contact form on this blog (on the author page)

Posted on October 5, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hi Tara
    I have been thing about your graphing of Single case data.
    We do not have a direct graphing function with Studiocode yet, however there a a number of ways to do this.
    because the information is captured over 25 sessions we need to access this data over these sessions to build the graphs. To make sure that data is correctly accessed you need to set up a suitable folder structure on your computer, thus allowing an external application to find the data correctly.
    The best graphing I can offer you is a Smile solution that allows you to access and set parameters using applescript type commands.
    Have a look at http://warriewood.sportstec.com.au/owen/Single_Case_Graph.png for my version of your excel graphs.

  2. That graph looks great Owen! I’m not sure I know exactly what you mean about a “Smile solution that allows [me] to access and set parameters using applescript type commands”. Ryan and I came up with a fairly easy solution for me to export data into excel using the Stats Window which I will explain in an upcoming post. When I get to that particular post, I’d love to hear your feedback to let me know if your solution is easier or better than ours 🙂

  3. I have made a demo graphing option for you.
    Get http://warriewood.sportstec.com.au/owen/SmileTara.zip and unzip the folder. (20MB)
    In the folder you will find
    Smile756.pkg – an installer to put smile on your computer.
    Statistics – a dummy Studiocode stats window containing the data you used in the post.
    Tars_Graph – a script application that creates the graphs.
    1. Install Smile
    2. Open the statistics window in Studiocode
    Select the row of data – I have included a dummy reference number that identifies a student
    Copy the data (Command-c)
    3. Open the Graph_Tara application
    Paste the data (command-v)

    The smile app will open and display the graphs.
    (you can stop the other windows from opening in the future in the smile prefs.)

    The customisation to accommodate you own stats window is easily done

  4. Thanks Owen. I spent a little time looking at these, but I’m not as familiar with this process so I’ll need a little more time to digest it 🙂 You continue to be very helpful throughout this process!

Leave a Reply

