Qualitative Research and StudioCode

I have to apologize for my infrequent posting in February. I had the opportunity to take a vacation from the cold Buffalo weather and travel to Tucson last week where the sun was shining and temperatures were in the mid eighties, so it was hard to pass that up!

Since my last post, I have spent some time exploring ways to utilize StudioCode for qualitative research. For much of my research, I generally know what behaviors I am exploring, so I tend to set up my code windows ahead of time, making small additions/changes once I start coding. Many times though, in qualitative research, the researcher does not know what behaviors he or she is looking for. If this is the case, a researcher may use a grounded theory approach. In a grounded theory approach, the researcher tries to go in with a ‘clean slate’ for a more unbiased look at the data. In terms of using this approach with StudioCode, this means the code hierarchy will be developed as you go rather than before you begin coding.

In this video, I will show you one way to use StudioCode to with a grounded theory approach to video coding. This video is really just an introduction to the types of things I will be discussing in the next bunch of posts. If you think of some other things you would like me to discuss about using StudioCode for qualitative research, please feel free to comment or send me a private message. I’d be happy to explore it for you 🙂

Posted on February 25, 2014, in Open Coding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Excited to see this develop.

Leave a Reply

