Theoretical Code Window with Actual Research Data

I like to develop my code windows as much as possible before collecting any research data. I base my codes off of prior research and my literature review. One of the downfalls of this method is if I spend too much time on scripting before I actually collect data, I might make more work for myself. Theoretical code windows do not always work as expected once we collect our actual research data.

I started collecting video data for my eWorkbooks project, and I realized I needed to make some changes to my OTRs code window. This is a natural part of the process. I use a modified grounded theory approach to my code windows. Rather than starting with a blank slate, I start with my hypothesized codes and then I use my data to generate new codes and to modify what I already made. I really recommend this approach to most educational researchers. One word of caution: Do not spend too much time on scripting and fancy formatting and outputs until your code window is more or less set. I only developed mine as much as I did for purposes of this blog…it was actually more work later to fix some of my links and scripting when I had too much of it.

Posted on April 26, 2014, in General Tips and Tricks. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Tara – This is a great example of layered coding. There are lots of applications for this approach in multiple markets. Probably the best example is the live coding to research workflow. In this workflow there is a need to code some action live while video is being captured. This might be just to take advantage of time, but could also be to capitalize on available human resource, or to code towards a debrief on the action. The second pass of coding would be a much more careful analysis like you’ve described here. Then there would be a third pass (or more) to refine the data. Scripting and output options can be used during any of the passes depending on the needs for visualization at the time.

Leave a Reply

