Final Thoughts on Kappa: Using Label Mode

This is my last post about calculating Cohen’s Kappa for IRR. Mike from Studiocode reminded me about Label Mode as an alternative to the methods I showed you for adding labels to coded instances at a later point. This alternative is much easier when you have a complex timeline with a lot of labels. It also increases the independence of the raters’ labeling. I briefly model how to use label mode in this video.

After this post, I will return to posts about open coding. On Friday I finished data collection for my current research project, so I will share some tips and tricks as I begin coding my data.

Posted on June 16, 2014, in IRR. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Tara. Really looking forward to seeing all this work coming through into your research project. Be interesting to see if you could estimate the hours you will save during the research project by using Studiocode.

    Regards
    Philip

Leave a Reply

