A More Successful First Layer of Coding

I used my own advice and had a much more successful coding session.   I sorted my initial codes and decided to focus on just three of them for the first layer of coding.  In this video I give you a few tips for what this initial process of coding might look like and how I can use the “create new row” and scripting features of Studiocode to gather a little more information to use and explore during my second layer of coding this video.  By doing these calculations, I already have very specific data to add to my research.  For example, instead of noting a trend of many interruptions to the teacher’s lesson, I can be much more specific and say the teacher was interrupted for 9 minutes and 36 seconds out of the 18 minute and 47 second lesson. “Many interruptions” becomes “the teacher was interrupted about half of the time during concept development”.  Calculating this by hand would be completely unreasonable, which is why having software like this is so great.  We get a much more accurate picture of our data.  Quantifying this qualitative data helps reduce the likeliness of our qualitative research becoming more like glorified story telling than like research.

As I mentioned in the video, if you are not already fluent with quick and easy techniques to adjust your previously coded instances, I highly recommend you view two of my posts from early/mid March where I show you how to trim, merge, and split instances.

  • March 7th Post – “Adjusting Coded Instances” (I showed ways to adjust instances, but I also posed questions to the folks at Studiocode)
  • March 9th Post – “Problems Solved” (I demonstrated the feedback given from the folks at Studiocode)
Posted on July 8, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Tara…from my perspective this is a great post. The clarity and advice should be embraced by all. Philip

Leave a Reply

