Code Window as a Presentation Tool: Playing Movies

Thank you for all of the responses to my last post. I am going to try to cover as much as possible over the next bunch of weeks. Just a reminder that if you have a specific behavior/research question that you are having trouble coding, feel free to contact me for some ideas.  Also, if you ever have suggestions for me to improve anything I have demonstrated, I would love to hear them. This blog is meant to open a dialogue between Studiocode users.

And now for today’s post:

I love to use my code windows as a presentation tool. You have already seen some of my code windows where I have scripting everywhere to calculate frequency counts, durations, and percentages. Today I am going to show you how to call up strings of videos in your code window as well. This is useful when presenting and also when you want to double check your coding.

Making Movie Buttons:

  • Create a new button and select “action” as the type

Play Movie

  •  Your script should look like this:
    • Show instances where row = “row name”
  • Or if you only want instances containing a certain label, it should look like this:
    • Show label “label name” where row = “row name”

 


 

As I demonstrate in my screencast, the only trouble I had with this was playing videos with a specific label within a group. The typical format for labels within group is  “group”.”label”, but when I tried the script below, it didn’t work:

  • Show label “Students”.”Student 1” where row = “Affirmative”

I also tried the word “group” instead of label, and that didn’t work either.  If anyone knows what is wrong with that particular script, I’m all ears. 🙂

 

Posted on August 29, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Tara,

    To show movies filtered by groups try:

    show “group”.”label” where row = “myrowname”

  2. Hi Tara – To check your codes and labels (and then make changes) you can export to the transcription window. As long as the labels have groups you can easily look through the spreadsheet, make changes then synch back to the timeline.

    In the next version of Studiocode there will be a new spreadsheet tool called “Sorter” that will make that process even easier.

    Thanks for another great post.

    -Mike

Leave a Reply

